top of page

15 to 15 (15.5 Miles to SR15)

Updated: Jul 21, 2020

What an exciting and adventurous trip this was! It started rough but it finished strong. It was an adventure like no other I had been on previously, or in the future. There was just so much to this trip. For starters we were slow out the door on this trip. We wanted to be on the river by 1:00 pm, we actually lauched somewhere around 4:00. the drive time was 1 hour 45 min to the launch. The problem is that when you have lots of cool gear but can't find room on the boat for all of it so there's much debate over what we bring and what we don't. ON THE WAY, I stop to check the tie-downs on the Kayak, they took a slight tightening but seemed ok, but as we pulled away and got back onto the SR (highway) my cellphone skids across one lane of traffic and lands in the second. My wife saw this and stopped to save the phone but she wasn't fast enough to grab it before a car drove over top of it... CELLPHONE DONE! So my co-pilot/guest used her phone for GPS and music. So that's how that started. Once we arrive everything seems to go pretty well. I still have my "Go-Pro" waterproof, action camera (A Costco knockoff of the original) for photos and videos. I had never really used it up to this point, we bought it for my daughter, so I didn't know what to expect. (Not impressed). I had also asked Gina to take some photos just in case mine didn't turn out. (*a couple did but not many) (the problem with the Go-Pro is that I believe some moisture got into the "waterproof" casing and affected its ability to work properly. There was also the problem of water on the lens. When I would try to turn it on to take a photo or video it would just shut-down instantly so there are many pics I didn't get to take. So that concludes some of the backstory and a few details. Now, on with the adventure.


I think the biggest surprise of the trip was our surprise visitors, more on that shortly... This trip was one that was full of wildlife. We saw so many animals, including lots of cute little babies. Some of the babies that we saw on the trip. I caught the smallest channel catfish of my life (could have maybe been a mud-cat, not exactly sure) until later when I was able to catch with my bare hands... THE SMALLEST CATFISH EVER. The tiny little black fish was so super cute, and TINY.


Returning later for more

9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page